FTC Disclosure: i-travelPH.com receives financial compensation when the affiliate link(s) on this page are clicked on and a purchase is made.

central visayas region VII

Philippines – Best Cities, Places In Central Visayas Region VII

The Central Visayas region VII (Tagalog: Gitnang Kabisayaan) a province of ​​the Philippines that designated as District VII. It comprises four provinces (Cebu, Bohol, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor) and three urbanized cities (Cebu, Lapu Lapu, and Mandawi). The main islands are Cebu, Bohol and Siquijor and the eastern part of Negros. Its regional center in Cebu City. Dominated territory by native speakers of four Visaya languages: Cebuano, Bantayanon, Boholano, and Porohanon. The capacity 15,895.66 square kilometers (6,137.35 square miles) and the resident population is 7,396,898, making it the second most populous section in the Visayas.

On May 29, 2015, they redefined the region. When the Central Visayas (Region Vii) gone the province of Negros Oriental in the established Isla de Negros territory. But, the zone has disbanded and Negros Oriental returned to the Central Visayas on August 9, 2017.

It derives the name of the territory from the central position of the islands within the larger Visayas region. American colonists chose this name. Other suggest changing the name of a current state of ​​Central Visayas, it dominates which by the Cebuano ethnic group. The former name of the zone before the Spanish colonial rule in the 16th century in the Subu territory. The term refers to the ancient kingdom of the region, Rajahnate of Cebu, referred to as Sugbu in local Cebuano.


The region entered September 24, 1972, and 11 districts of Presidential Decree. They organized the provinces in the Philippines as part of President Marcos’s integrated restructuring plan. Cebu, Bohol and Negros Eastern Province (including their then Siquijor province) grouped into the Central Visayas.

Central Visayas Region VII

ALSO READ: The Visayas Philippines

With the Executive Order No. 183 declared by President Benigno Aquino III May 29, 2015. Negros Eastern Province withdrew from the Central Visayas and formed Isla together with Negros West and its provincial capital. De Negros region, Bacolod City. Order No. 183 to form the island of Negros and West Negros and its provincial capital, Bacolod City. But then he restored Negros Oriental and its capital, the city of Dumaguete, and again in the Middle Visayas. On August 9, 2017, when President Rodrigo Dart dissolved the island of Negros. State, abolish administrative order No. 183, S. According to Benjamin Diokno, the Minister of Budget and Management. In 2015, an Executive Order No. 38 signaled the lack of funds to set up a national inventory report.

READ: Philippines – Best Cities, Places In Eastern Visayas Region VIII

The Central Visayas includes two main islands of Cebu and Bohol, and the smaller Siquijor Island and several surrounding islands. It includes the larger eastern half of Negros Island. Cebu Strait and the Tañon Strait are part of the region. The northern part of the region borders the Visa Sea. Negros Occidental province in the west and the Western Visayas. Baohe Sea in the south, and the Camotes and Leyte islands in the east of the Visayas.

READ: The Philippines Best Cities, Places In Western Visayas Region VI

The record 2015 census, the population is 7,396,898. The population density is 700 / km2 (1,800 / sq mi). According to the 2015 census, the average annual population growth rate between 2010 and 2015 was 1.76%. Higher than the national average of 1.72%.

South Region

The record 2015 census, the population is 7,396,898. The population density is 700 / km2 (1,800 / sq mi). According to the 2015 census, the average annual population growth rate between 2010 and 2015 was 1.76%. Higher than the national average of 1.72%.

Besides 24 national newspapers, Cebu has 20 local newspapers. The most popular of these is Sun Star Cebu, Cebu Daily News, and The Freeman. The country’s main Islamic news magazine, The Voice of Islam, founded in 1961 and published in the city.


The Fast craft terminal transports passengers from Cebu to Negros.

Cebu Port is the main gateway to the region. In Tagbilaran in Negros, Larena in Siquijor and Sibulan and Dumaguete in Negros Oriental (Dumaguete has a port). Shipping between islands served by several shipping companies, two of fast airlines serving each province in the region.


  • Mactan – Cebu International Airport.
  • Mactan – Cebu International Airport in Lapu Lapu, the second busiest airport in the country. (after Ninoy Aquino International Airport in Metro Manila) and 3 airports in Mesa, which only offer international flights. One (except for Iloilo International Airport, and Kalibo International Airport), the main aviation center of Cebu Pacific. A secondary center for Philippine Airlines and its subsidiaries, providing flights to every part of the country. International flights to other Asian and intercontinental destinations are available.


Airports in the region are Bohol – Panglao International Airport. Serves Tagbilaran and other Bohol Island, and Sibulan Airport, which serves Dumaguete and other parts of Negros Oriental.

Summit Galleria CebuCentral Visayas Condo
Santa Fe Beach Club CebuBohol South Beach Hotel