FTC Disclosure: i-travelPH.com receives financial compensation when the affiliate link(s) on this page are clicked on and a purchase is made.

eastern visayas region VIII

Philippines – Best Cities, Places In Eastern Visayas Region VIII

The Eastern Visayas Region VIII (Tagalog: Silangang Kabisayaan) an administrative zone of ​​the Philippines assigned as District VIII. It comprises 3 main islands, Samar, Leyte, and Biliran. The region has six provinces, an independent city, and an urbanized city. It comprises Samar del Norte, Biliran, Leyte, Samar del Este, Samar, Tacloban, Leyte del Sur, and Ormoc. The urbanized city of Tacloban is the only regional center. These provinces and cities occupy the most eastern islands of the Visayas.

To the east of the Eastern Visayas region VIII is the Philippine Sea. The region is known for its famous landmark San Juanico Bridge. Recognized, as the longest bridge in the country. As of 2015, the Mischa de Este region has 4,440,150 inhabitants, making it the third largest population in the Visayas.

The current name for the territory comes from its location in the Visayas district. The name created by American colonialists after the island of the Philippines defeated by the Americans and seized the island. It has suggested changing the name of the current East Visayas region. Dominated by Waray ethnic group in the east and Cebuano ethnic group in the west in Mairete-Iberein region. It recognizes as the territory of Iberein and Ete.

According to documents documented by the Spanish. Ete was the first documented former colonial ruler in the Kingdom of Leyte. Iberein was the first literary former colonial ruler in the Kingdom of Samar. Ete, his kingdom concentrated in today’s Tacloban, may have Waray and Cebuano bloodlines. Iberein, his kingdom concentrated somewhere north of Samar, may have Waray blood.

The Eastern Visayas Region VIII in the central and eastern parts of the Philippine Islands. It comprises three main islands, Leyte, Biliran, and Samar, which form the most eastern coast of the archipelago. It limits the oceans of the north and east to the Philippines. The San Bernardino Strait separates the Samar southeast of Luzón. West is the ocean of Camotes and Visayan. The south is the Bohol Sea, and the Surigao Strait separates Leyte from the northwestern part of Mindanao. The total Space 2,156,285 hectares (5,328,300 acres), accounting for 7.2% of the country’s total territory. 52% of its total land space classified as forest land, and 48% classified as alienable land and disposable land.


According to the corona classification scheme, two kinds of climate in this region: category II and category IV. The category II climate characterized by no dry season, but a significant rainfall from November to January. Samar and the eastern part of the island of Leyte belong to this climate. The annual rainfall of category IV dispersed, and it can see a short dry season from February to May. It exposes this climate to the western half of Leyte Island and part of Samar. It covers Motiong in the northern part of Samar until San Isidro.

READ: The Visayas Philippines

In November 2013, it hit the region hard by the death toll of the typhoon Haiyan. The second most deadly typhoon that the typhoon assaulted the Philippines. Typhoons hit the region and the Bicol section the most vulnerable to typhoons in the Philippines.


The marine and inland waters of the territory are rich in salt and freshwater fish and other seafood. It is one of the country’s fish export regions. There are important forest reserves within the island. Its deposits constitute uranium (Sama), chromite, gold, manganese, silver, magnesium, nickel, clay, bronze, coal, pyrite, limestone, and gravel. It has abundant geothermal energy and water resources to meet the needs of medium and heavy industries.


Visayas del Este is an agricultural section where rice, corn, coconut, sugar cane, and bananas are the main crops.

The main sources of income are manufacturing, wholesale and retail and services. Mining, agriculture, fisheries, and tourism contribute much to the economy. The manufacturing companies include mining companies, fertilizer plants, sugar mills, rice and corn plants, and other food processing plants. Tacloban is the investment, trade and development center of the Eastern Visayas Region VIII.

Other industries include extract coconut oil, the distillation of alcohol, produce beverages and forest products. Domestic industries include woven hats and baskets, metal crafts, sewing, pottery, pottery, woodwork, shell crafts, and bamboo crafts.


The Eastern Visayas Region VIII has several state universities, including the famous Visayas Tacloban College. The region home to the University of the Eastern Philippines (UEP), in Catarman in North Samal. Where universities have the most bachelors and postgraduate programs.

The Visa Agricultural Division of Agriculture under the Visa National Agricultural Education Policy. Visa State University (VSU) in the city, in Baybay. In addition, the zone home to Palo Polytechnic, a maritime school in the Philippines that provides cover and cadet engines. It places its main campuses in Palompon, Leyte.

East Messiah State University is Leyte State University with five expansion campuses. South Wright State University has five extended campuses and is the only state university in South Leyte. In Villar, Naval State University is the state’s state university. For Samar Oriental, Samar del Este State University the only state university in the province with four extended campuses. While Samar State University is Samar State University with two expansion campuses. Northwestern Samar State University is the first district in the province of Samar. For teacher training, Wright Normal University specializes in educational programs.


Lantransportsrt the islands of Leyte and Samar in the region as the main connecting point between Luzon and Mindanao. Nine airports in different regions of the six provinces that define the region. Daniel Z. Romualdez Airport in Tacloban is the main air gateway to the city. Tacloban, Baybay, Catbalogan, Calbayog, Borongan, Allen, Ormoc, Bato, Hilongos, Maasin, Sogod, and Naval have seaports.


The Eastern Visayas Region VIII is the country’s main producer of geothermal energy. Wright has the largest geothermal power plant in the Philippines. Geothermal exploration is still underway in the nearby province of Biliran. With the abundance of river systems, the region has the potential for hydropower production. It declared San Juanico Strait between the islands of Leyte and Samar a potential source of water and tidal energy.



Tinikling, the national dance of the Philippines is a popular dance popular in the region. but, the most popular cultural dance of Warays is Kuratsa, dancing during the celebration party and a special session. Leyte Kalipayan Dance Company is a local cultural group that has achieved very successful performances around the world.


Waray people are music lovers, their folk music the form of folk songs. Where Dandansoy is famous and Iroy nga Tuna (Homeland) a patriotic song.

Samal Island CozyCalbayog, Eastern Samar
Ormoc Villa Hotel, OrmocTacloban Plaza Hotel

Photo by Lance Lozano on Unsplash