FTC Disclosure: i-travelPH.com receives financial compensation when the affiliate link(s) on this page are clicked on and a purchase is made.

Soccsksargen Region xii

The Philippines Best Cities, Places In SOCCSKSARGEN Region XII

SOCCSKSARGEN Region XII, Soccsksargen (pronounced, soksardʒɛn), known as Cotabato or Kota Bato. An administrative region of the Philippines in the south-central part of Mindanao. Designated as zone XII. Those names an acronyms for the four provinces and one city in the region. (Cotabato del Sur, Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, and General Santos). It was once known as the Central Mindanao Island. The regional center is in Koronadal, in the province of Cotabato del Sur. A commercial and industrial center is General Santos, the most populous city in the region.


The northern part of the region is Mindanao del Norte. Its eastern part is the Davao section, and the southwest is the Celebes Sea. The zone has maritime borders with Gorontalo and Sulawesi in northern Indonesia. It bases the province of Maguindanao in Cotabato, between the provinces of Cotabato del Norte and Sultan Kudarat.


It has vast coastlines, valleys, and mountains. Recognized for its river scheme and the watershed of Mindanao, in the Cotabato Basin, a comprehensive depression on three sides. The Rio Grande River, the longest river in Mindanao, extended in the basin, the second-longest river in the Philippines. The river flows to Illana Bay in Morro Bay, west of Cotabato.

In the southern part of the basin is the Tiruray Heights. A medium-altitude mountain range that blocks the basins on the southern coast. In the southeastern part of the Sarangani Bay.

READ: The Mindanao Philippines


The oldest civilization in the territory is Maitum, Sarangani, where anthropomorphic pottery was discovered. These jars have been declared a national cultural treasure and protected by the laws of the Philippines and international law.

Central Mindanao

The city is once known as the Central Mindanao Island. Before setting up the Mindanao Muslim (ARMM) Autonomous Region, it included the following provinces:

ALSO READ: The Philippines Regions

With the setup ARMM, Lanao del Sur, and Maguindanao (excluding Cotabato) were removed from the city. This leaves Lanao del Norte, Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat, Iligan, Cotabato, and Marawi as provinces and constituent municipalities. Iligan and Lanao del Norte assigned to Northern Mindanao, while Marawi converted part of ARMM.


September 2001, President Arroyo signed Executive Order No. 36 to South Cotabato, Sarangani, General Santos (known as SocSarGen District). The Regional Section moved from South Mindanao to Zone XII and renamed the region from Central Mindanao to SOCCSKSARGEN Region XII.

Koronadal City, New Regional Center

According to Executive Order No. 304, signed by then-President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo. The city of Koronadal appointed as the regional political and socio-economic center of SOCCSKSARGEN Region XII on March 30, 2004. The Zero-Day Regional Office instructed working with the office that will move from Cotabato. City, the former regional center of the city.

Departure from Cotabato City

Boycotts included in the efforts of the Muslim Autonomous Region of Mindanao. Although as the government center of ARMM, the referendum created the autonomous region of Bangsamoro. On January 21, 2019, caused a legal surprise to approve the organic Bangsamoro. This means that the city of Cotabato, now becoming the capital of the region. The current ARMM institutions should keep by the regional government of Bangsamoro and now send to the SOCCSKSARGEN region XII.

Administrative Division

Soccsksargen comprises 4 provinces, 1 urbanized city, 3 constituent cities, 45 municipalities, and 1,195 towns.


Part Cities

  • Kidapawan – The only city in Cotabato
  • Koronadal – Regional Political Center of Soccsksargen region xii
  • Tacurong – the only city in Sultan Kudarat

Very Urbanized City

General Santos – an urbanized city that is the center of the SOCCSKSARGEN region xii metropolitan and regional trade and industrial center.

Dolores Farm Resort, PolomolokEva’s Hotel, Kidapawan
Eighty Eight Hotel, KoronadalAvior Hotel, General Santos