FTC Disclosure: i-travelPH.com receives financial compensation when the affiliate link(s) on this page are clicked on and a purchase is made.

South Asia

South Asia

South Asia is a region of South Asia, defined as both ethnocultural. The region comprises countries such as Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. The Indian Plate dominates it. Which is bounded by the Indian Ocean in the south and the Himalayas, Karakoram, and Pamirs in the north. The Amu Darya River, which lies north of the Hindu Kush Mountains, is part of the northwestern border. On land (clockwise), South Asia is bordered by West Asia, Central Asia, East Asia, and Southeast Asia.

Also read: East Asia

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is the region’s economic cooperation organization. Established in 1985 and comprises the eight countries that make up South Asia. South Asia covers 5.2 million square kilometers (2 million square miles). Accounts for 11.71% of the Asian continent or 3.5% of the world’s land area. With a population of 1.891 million, South Asia accounts for about a quarter of the world’s population. The largest and most densely populated geographical region in the world. Overall, it is home to about 39.49% of Asia’s population. And over 24% of the world’s population and is home to a wide variety of people.

South Asia

As of 2010, South Asia has the largest population of Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs, Jains, and Zoroastrians in the world. South Asia alone is home to 98.47% Hindus and 90.5% Sikhs. And 31% Muslims as well as 35 million Christians and 25 million Buddhists.

See Also: Flight to India: Fly with Qatar Airways, and avail their best discounts


Etihad flights

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8